Section: Mitzvos   Category: Mitzva Count
TAGS:Bnei Noach  mitzva
7 Mitzvos Bnei Noach

The Sheva Mitzvos Bnei Noach according to the Talmud, were given by Hashem to Noach as a binding set of laws for all mankind.  Any non-Jew who lives according to these laws is regarded as a Chasid Umos Ha'Olam and is assured of a place in Olam Haba. The seven laws listed by the Tosefta and the Talmud (Tosefta Avodah Zarah 8.4 quoted in Talmud Sanhedrin 56a.) 

  1. Avodah Zara - Prohibition of Idolatry: You shall not have any idols before Hashem.
  2. Shefichas Damin - Prohibition of Murder: You shall not murder. (Bereishis 9:6)
  3. Giluy Arayos - Prohibition of Sexual Promiscuity: You shall not commit any of a series of sexual prohibitions, which include adultery, incest, bestiality and male homosexuality.
  4. Gezeila - Prohibition of Theft: You shall not steal.
  5. Birchas HaShem - Prohibition of Blasphemy: You shall not blaspheme God's name.
  6. Aiver Min HaChai - Dietary Law: Do not eat flesh taken from an animal while it is still alive. (Bereishis 9:4)
  7. Dinim - Requirement to have just Laws: You shall set up an effective judiciary to enforce the preceding six laws fairly.
A way to remember these seven are that the first three are the Three Aveiros Chamuros that we must be willing to die for.  The next 4 are in accordance with the first four letters of the Aleph Bais
Aleph -  Aiver Min HaChai
Bais - Birchas Hashem (a euphemism for blasphemy)
Gimmel - Gezeila
Dalet - Dinim
Submitted by Ratzon4  Thank you very much and Tizku L'Mitvos!