Section: Questions Category: Halacha
|Halacha - Pesach String Beans|
|Submitted by CECELIA Answered by Rav Peretz Moncharsh|
|Question: can string beans be used for passover
|Answer: String beans are kitniyos and Askenazim (Jews of European descent) do not eat them on Pesach.
Visitor Comments: 2
Rabbi Peretz Moncharsh, 2008-04-14 16:18:21
Kitniyos literally are legumes (peas, beans, etc.), and the halacha includes seeds (sunflower, poppy sesame) and other seeds that grow in a pod (mustard, etc.) rice and corn. Though they are not chometz, but they either can be made into bread or cereal like grain or the were frequently mixed with grains. Therefore, about 600 years ago most of European Jewry accepted on themseves to avoid all these foods on Pesach.
Sweet potatos are not a problem.
Anonymous, 2008-04-14 07:07:17
what is kitniyos and are sweet potatoes kosher for passover