Home About Us the Rabbis Contact Us


what's new on Revach
Parshas Tzav: Rabbeinu Bachaye - Covering the Shame of Sinners

Parshas Pinchas: Rav Yehonoson Eibshitz - Where did Zimri the Great Tzaddik go Wrong?

Showering the Night Before a Taanis

Ha Lachma Anya: Rav Eliyahu Dessler - Celebrating Freedom With Poor Bread

Rav Yaakov Edelstein - The Two Words He Wanted to Be Able to Speak
 
[view all questions in this category]

Section: Questions   Category: Halacha
Halacha - Alternative Medicine that isn't kosher
Submitted by yocheved rosenwaser  Answered by Rav Peretz Moncharsh
Question:
Answer:

 

There are number of issues that must be addressed.

If the glucosamin is only manufactured from the inedible shell of the shellfish, as I found mentioned in one source, then the medicine would not be considered treif to begin with, if there are no other problematic ingredients.

If the glucosamin is not kosher; have you been diagnosed with osteoarthritis or other similar condition that would lead you to be classified as a choleh, or did the doctor recommend these pills as a preventative measure?

If you are considered a choleh, it still remains to determine if glucosamine is a halachically reliable method of treating your illness. From the information I found, while numerous studies confirmed the efficacy, they were all sponsored by the manufacturer. Most of the independent studies found no difference in results from a placebo.

posted:2008-05-13 10:30:36


printable version     email to a friend
 

Send Your Comments
Name optional
Display my name?
Yes   No
EMAIL optional
Your email address is kept private.
COMMENTS required
Type Image Code REQUIRED IMAGE CODE
    Most Viewed Lists
  1. "Zissen" Pesach
  2. Toivel Hot water Urn
  3. Bracha for bANANAS
  4. sprinkler on Shabbos clock
  5. shaving body
    Last Viewed
  1. Alternative Medicine that isn't kosher
  2. safek berachos
  3. baal keri
  4. chometz
  5. shul talis